Semifinalists for 2017 National Merit Scholarship

Semifinalists for 2017 National Merit Scholarship
Posted on 10/01/2016
National Merit Logo10 Wando High School Students Announced as Semifinalists for 2017 National Merit Scholarship Competition

Congratulations to the ten Semifinalists:

• Gabrielle W. Blackburn
• Thomas Blyth
• Oscar Garcia
• Lia T. Hsu-Rodriguez
• Peyton S. McKellips
• Samuel J. Packard
• Matthew F. Pitts
• Hunter R. Ross
• Justin E. Taylor
• Noah W. Wright

“These seniors are being recognized for their demonstrated exemplary academic skills and abilities. The District shares in the tremendous pride their families, friends, and school have for their achievements.” —Gerrita Postlewait, CCSD Superintendent

NMSC officials announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Twenty-two (22) CCSD students were named 2017 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million that will be offered next spring.

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

2017 National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.