2017 Southern Interscholastic Press Association Awards

2017 Southern Interscholastic Press Association Awards
Posted on 03/07/2017
SIPA AwardsWando student media organizations traveled to Columbia this past weekend for the 2017 Southern Interscholastic Press Association conference. Tribal Tribune newspaper, Tribe Talk broadcast, and Legend yearbook all brought home numerous overall and individual honors.


Teacher: Tammy Watkins
Legend was named named the Best Yearbook in South Carolina, marking the first time in Wando history the yearbook has won this honor. Tribal Tribune was also named the Best Newspaper in South Carolina.

Overall Rating (last year's book): All-Southern
Total Individual Awards: 24 (most in yearbook history)

First Place, Student Life Writing: Brooke Fletcher
First Place, Sports Writing: Jack Rhiel
Second Place, Community Writing: Sophie Winnick
Third Place, Academic Writing: Sydney Warren
Third Place, Groups Writing: Emily Scruggs
Third Place, Community Writing: Sophie Mauerhan
Best in Show, End Sheet Design: Des Armstrong and Sophie Winnick
Best in Show, Divider Design: Sophie Winnick
Best in Show, Clubs Design: Maddie Manke
Best in Show, Clubs Photography: Nathan Warner
Best in Show, Computer Special Effects Photography: Ry Ulmer
Best in Show, Alternative Copy Design: Anna Perryman
Best in Show, PR/Marketing: Legend Staff
Award of Merit, Academic Photography: Sophie Winnick
Award of Merit, Computer Special Effects Photography: Sophie Winnick
Award of Merit, Camera Special Effects Photography: Sophie Winnick
Honorable Mention, Alternative Copy Design: Sophie Winnick
Honorable Mention, Cover Design: Des Armstrong and Sophie Winnick
Honorable Mention, Profile Design: Des Armstrong
Honorable Mention, Opening Spread: Des Armstrong and Sophie Winnick
Honorable Mention, Clubs Design: Kennedy Pettengill
Honorable Mention, Sports Photography: Megan Fleming
Honorable Mention, News Photography: Millie Chantepie
Best Copy, Team On-Site Production: Abbey Byrd, Faith Dutton, Maddie Manke, Anna Perryman

Tribal Tribune

Teacher: Phillip Caston 
Overall rating: All-Southern
Total Individual Awards: 31

First Place, News Feature Writing: Francesca Mathewes
First Place, News Writing: Bhavani Srinivas
First Place, Sports Writing: Devon Lee
First Place, News Cutline: Lettie Lundy
Second Place, Sports Writing: Hannah Bain
Second Place, Sports Feature Writing: Abby Vorhees
Second Place, Review Writing: Zach Green
Second Place, Entertainment/Features Column: Liz Hipes
Third Place, News Writing: Francesca Mathewes
Third Place, Editorial Column: Francesca Mathewes
Third Place, Feature Writing: Ryan Rothkopf
Third Place, Blog Writing: Lauren Insinger
Third Place, Online Reviews: Zach Green
Third Place, Features Cutline: Lettie Lundy
Best in Show, Headline Package: Mackenzie Ivey
Best in Show, News Page Design: Lettie Lundy
Best in Show, Online Feature Package: Francesca Mathewes
Best in Show, Online Opinion Package: Katherine Kollegger
Best in Show, Pictorial/Scenic Photography: Jack Rogers
Best in Show, Sports Photography: Jack Rogers
Award of Merit, Editorial Cartoon: Rose Holstein
Award of Merit, Centerspread Design: Charlotte O'Neil
Award of Merit, Online Feature Package: Ryan Rothkopf
Award of Merit, Online Opinion Package: Morgan Carpenter
Award of Merit, Club Photography: Lydia Gardner
Award of Merit, News Photography: Jack Rogers
Honorable Mention, Editorial Cartoon: Zach Green
Honorable Mention, Feature Page Design: Mackenzie Ivey
Honorable Mention, Online Opinion Package: Coleman Wallace
Honorable Mention, Academic Photography: Katherine Kollegger
Best Writing, Team On-Site Production: Samantha Winn, Katherine Kollegger, Patrick Aherne, Francesca Mathewes

Tribe Talk

Teacher: Shawntell Pace
Overall Rating: Superior
Total Individual Awards: 

Best in Show, Podcast: Reilly Biller and Connor Griffin
Best in Show, PSA: Jack McAlister
Award of Merit, News Story: Jenna Sulkowski, Connor Griffin, Cain Compton, Alyssa Weeks
Award of Merit, Sports Coverage: Reilly Biller, Caroline Cox, Blake Ellis
Award of Merit, Digital Story Telling: Reagan Gresham and Jenna Sulkowski
Award of Merit, Podcast: Wyatt Wells and Connor Griffin
Honorable Mention, Anchor: Connor Griffin
Honorable Mention, Graphics: Jack McAlister, Cameron Allen, Zaq Butler, Tate Fowler
Honorable Mention, Music Video: Mark Maddaloni
Honorable Mention, Human Interest: Jack McAlister and Cameron Allen
Honorable Mention, Short Film: Jenna Sulkowski, Selena Colon, Sydney Register
Honorable Mention, Sports Coverage: Reilly Biller, Mark Maddaloni, Valeria Hughen
Best Storytelling, Team On-Site Production: Jenna Sulkowski and Blake Ellis
Best Anchor, Team On-Site Production: Sydney Register
Honorable Mention, Anchor, Team On-Site Production: Tate Fowler

Photos of the teams
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.